Another Kindness Tale

Back in 2009, I started my run as Director of Food and Beverage Sales at the RBC Centre in Sarnia. We provided service for the Sarnia Sting games, as well as various special events, such as Jerry Seinfeld, Blue Man Group and more. This is where I met Brenda Atmore….and the Atmore clan.

Brenda was one of our part time staff, pouring beer in Concession Five, the busiest concession in the arena. Brenda was a stalwart in the arena, known to customers and a great mentor for the kids that worked in this concession. I don’t go to work to make friends, I’m there to do a job. Of course I try to be friendly and respectful, but as a leader, I tried to keep a professional tone while I was at work. As my time at the arena continued, I realized what a special person Brenda was…

Yep, like any employee/employer relationship, there are the odd, not so pleasant moments. Of course, it was not different between Brenda and I. Both of us are strong willed and on occasion, we disagreed. What struck me about Brenda was her customer service and work ethic. However, these qualities are second to her dedication to family. The Atmore family is, well, the type of family we all dream about-I know I do. Each and every member of this family, from Brenda’s husband Rob, to their three daughters, Lauren, Lindsay and Sam, their incredible partners and absolutely gorgeous grandchildren, are special and incredibly kind people.

64493616_10156178097246630_2894332118077276160_n

One night, we were running an MMA event at the arena and I underestimated how much these fans drank. We were quickly getting low on beer. This wouldn’t have been an issue had we not had a Sting game scheduled the next day at 2:00. I was in panic mode-its a Saturday night, I can’t get a beer delivery and a busy hockey game the next day. Brenda and Rob to the rescue. As the Beer Store is opening Sunday morning, Rob and Brenda picked up $3000 worth of beer and delivered it to the arena. They saved the day and I’m not sure they realized how much their efforts were appreciated.

In October 2016, I was invited to dinner at Brenda’s daughter’s and partner’s home (Lindsay and Korey) for Thanksgiving dinner. I was welcomed, wheelchair and all so warmly, like I was a member of the family. Such a kind moment that I can never, ever forget. They say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree and the Atmores are absolute proof of that-kind, generous and loving.

Brenda is like a slightly older sister. She is a proud wife, mom and grandmother. She is the kind of person we would all be fortunate to know. Brenda checks in with me regularly, is one of the first to buy one of my lousy books (yes Brenda! Bloody Brothers is coming soon…I promise!) Her friendship means so much to this cranky bastard. The world is a better place because of Brenda and her fantastic family.

I don’t know if I’ve said this enough: Thank you Brenda. I love you Big Sister!